Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board (RAB) provides the Vice-President, Research and Innovation, with counsel on a wide variety of matters relating to the University of Toronto’s research enterprise. The RAB includes Vice-Principals, Research, Vice/Associate-Deans, Research and Vice-Presidents from across the disciplines on all three campuses and the affiliated hospitals.

Terms of Reference

The Research Advisory Board (RAB) is representative of the research enterprise across University of Toronto campuses and hospitals. It is not intended, nor feasible, to include delegates from every research unit or discipline.

    1. Appointment to the RAB is made by the Vice-President, Research and Innovation (VPRI) with advice from the President and Provost. It is advisory to the VPRI.
    2. The RAB will be the leading venue for discussion, advice, and guidance on the strategic research issues and directions of the university.
    3. The RAB will address all aspects of the research enterprise across U of T campuses and hospitals including basic and applied research, knowledge translation, commercialization, and industry and community relations.
    4. The RAB will play a leadership role in liaison on research and commercialization matters with federal and provincial governments and their agencies.
    5. The RAB will provide advice and guidance on U of T’s strategic international research activity and presence, in the context of the university’s overall international strategy.
    6. The RAB will advise on the use of effective performance indicators that describe the differentiated position of U of T as a research-intensive university, and communicate these to various stakeholders.
    7. The RAB will advise on the formulation and implementation of an effective communication strategy for research at U of T.
    8. The RAB will strike subcommittees, task forces and specialty groups of various types, from time to time, to facilitate the implementation of it activities.


  • Vivek Goel, Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives
  • Christine Allen, Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost, Strategic Initiatives
  • Stephane Angers, Associate Dean, Research, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Joshua Barker, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education
  • David Brennan, Associate Dean, Research, Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work
  • Renée Brost, Chief Administrative Officer, Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation
  • Judith Chadwick, Assistant Vice-President, Research Services, Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation
  • Kenneth Corts, Vice-Dean, Faculty and Research, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management
  • Ramin Farnood, Vice Dean, Research, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
  • Lori Ferris, Associate Vice-President, Research Oversight and Compliance, Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation
  • France Gagnon, Associate Dean, Research, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
  • Bernhard Ganss, Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Richard Hegele, Vice-Dean Research & Innovation, Faculty of Medicine
  • Alison Keith, Director, Jackman Humanities Institute
  • Bernie Kraatz, Vice-Principal, Research, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Helen Lasthiotakis, Executive Director, Strategic Partnerships & Office of the VPRI, Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation
  • Stephen Lye, Associate Director, Lunenfeld Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital; Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Heather MacNeil, Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Information
  • Liat Margolis, Associate Dean, Research, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
  • Kelly Metcalfe, Associate Dean, Research & External Relations, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing
  • Kent Moore, Vice-Principal, Research, University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Derek Newton, Assistant Vice-President, Innovations, Partnerships & Entrepreneurship, Division of the Vice-President, Research & Innovation
  • Michele Peterson-Badali, Associate Dean, Research, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
  • Jay Pratt, Vice-Dean, Research & Infrastructure, Faculty of Arts & Science
  • Paula Rochon, Vice-President, Research, Women’s College Hospital; Professor, Faculty of Medicine
  • Ted Sargent, Vice President, International
  • Luc Tremblay, Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Kinesiology & Physical Education
  • Tania Watts, CIHR Delegate; Professor, Department of Immunology, Faculty of Medicine
  • David Wolfe, SSHRC Leader; Professor, Political Science, Munk School of Global Affairs Faculty of Arts & Science; University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Albert Yoon, Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Law

Back to Top ↑

© 2019 Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation. All rights reserved. | Site map | Accessibility | Log in