Looking for a form?
Before you email or call, please check the complete list of forms, or try the search function at the top of the page.

Ethics Review of Course-based Research

Course-based research involving human participants is a valuable part of students’ research experience. Course-based research may include undergraduate student-initiated projects, and undergraduate or graduate course template protocols. It is vital that such projects be designed and conducted with the same level of professionalism as graduate and faculty research.

The University is responsible for reviewing all course-based research involving human participants. Ethics review of these projects must adhere to the principles outlined in the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans, 2nd Edition (TCPS2). It is the responsibility of both the student and the supervisor/instructor to understand and comply with federal and University policies governing research involving humans and to submit an ethics protocol.

If you are an undergraduate or graduate course instructor with an assignment that involves human participants, you will need to complete an Undergraduate Course Template Form or Graduate Course Template Form to seek ethics approval for student projects.

If you are an undergraduate student conducting an independent research project for a course, you and your supervisor will need to complete an Undergraduate Ethics Review Protocol Form – Student Initiated Projects.

Several departments and faculties have established their own Delegated Ethics Review Committees (DERCs) to review course-based protocols. The DERC list and contact information are below. Faculty and students conducting course-based research requiring ethics review in all other units should submit a protocol to Ethics Review at ethics.review@utoronto.ca.

Course-based research reviewed through a DERC must be minimal risk. In exceptional circumstances if a unit supports higher risk course-based research, protocols must be submitted for ethics review through the appropriate Research Ethics Board (REB).

Please review the Guidelines Manual for further information on requirements of undergraduate research involving humans.

Delegated Ethics Review Committees for Course-based Research*

Campus

Department/Faculty (course prefixes)

Departmental/Faculty Contact

St. George Campus
Anthropology (ANT) Holly Wardlow hwardlow@chass.utoronto.ca
Engineering (AER, APS, BME, CHE, CIV, ECE, MIE, MSE) Laura De BartoloHans Kunov laura.debartolo@utoronto.cah.kunov@utoronto.ca
Environmental Studies (ENV) David Powell david.powell@utoronto.ca
Geography (GGR) Alana Boland boland@geog.utoronto.ca
Linguistics (LIN) Alana Johns ajohns@chass.utoronto.ca
Management (MGT) Geoffrey LeonardelliScott Hawkins geoffrey.leonardelli@rotman.utoronto.cahawkins@rotman.utoronto.ca
Pharmacy (PHM, PHC) Paul Grootendorst paul.grootendorst@utoronto.ca
Physical Education and Health (PHE) Jack Goodman jack.goodman@utoronto.ca
Political Science (POL) Melissa Williams melissa.williams@utoronto.ca
Psychology (PSY) Morgan Barense barense@psych.utoronto.ca
Religion/History Simon Coleman simon.coleman@utoronto.ca
Sociology (SOC) Charles Jones cjones@chass.utoronto.ca
Toronto School of Theology (TST) Abrahim (Ivan) Khan khanah@chass.utoronto.ca
University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM) All UTM departments Carla DeMarco car.demarco@utoronto.ca
University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) Anthropology Girish Daswani daswani@utsc.utoronto.ca
Centre for Critical Development Studies Ken MacDonald kmacd@utsc.utoronto.ca
Geography Ken MacDonald kmacd@utsc.utoronto.ca
Political Science Dan Lee dlee@utsc.utoronto.ca
Psychology Konstantine Zakzanis zakzanis@utsc.utoronto.ca
Sociology Ping-Chun Hsiung pchsiung@utsc.utoronto.ca
Manager, Research Operations Debbie Bilinski dbilinski@utsc.utoronto.ca

* Faculty and students conducting course-based research requiring ethics review in all other units should submit a protocol to ethics.review@utoronto.ca

Annual Report for DERC Administrators.

Back to Top ↑

© 2014 Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation. All rights reserved. | Site map | Accessibility | Log in