President’s Impact Awards and President’s Impact Academy

The University of Toronto President’s Impact Awards (PIA) celebrate and honour faculty members whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia, including, for example, on society, culture, public policy or law, practices or services, education, the development of products, processes or services from inventions, the economy, health, a profession, the environment, quality of life, or through public engagement.

U of T President’s Impact Award winners receive a monetary award of $10,000 per year for five years to be used toward their research. Recipients will be invited to the annual U of T Salutes! awards event celebrating research and innovation excellence.

Recipients are determined by a process of nomination and internal review and selection by a committee chaired by the Vice President, Research & Innovation.

Recipients of the President’s Impact Award who have a policy orientation may also be considered as a recipient of the Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award that is presented annually under the banner of the U of T Awards of Excellence (AWEX).

President’s Impact Academy

Recipients of a University of Toronto President’s Impact Award are also designated by the University as a member of the President’s Impact Academy for a minimum period of five years; those wishing to continue participation in the Academy after this term may elect to do so. The President’s Impact Academy will meet to discuss matters relevant to research impact, offer advice to the Vice President, Research & Innovation, and function as advocates for sustained excellence in research and innovation impact within and outside of the University. Members of the President’s Impact Academy will also be invited to participate in a range of university activities to increase the University‚Äôs profile on the impact of the research of its community.

Who Is Eligible

Nominations are open to faculty members with full-time academic appointments and whose research has led to significant impact beyond academia. This includes tenure-stream, teaching-stream, and clinical faculty and status-only faculty with full-time academic appointments. Acknowledging the breadth and depth of scholarship at the University, we welcome nominations of faculty across all disciplines whose outstanding achievements may be recognized with this special University of Toronto honour.

Further Information

Enquiries regarding the U of T President’s Impact Award should be directed to Monica Caverson, Manager, University Awards & Honours, Office of the Vice President, Research & Innovation at or 416-978-7905.

Back to Top ↑

© 2018 Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation. All rights reserved. | Site map | Accessibility | Log in